Small Vessels Safety Overview

​The Centre for Boating is responsible for carrying out the mandate delegated to SAMSA by the Merchant Shipping Act in as far as it applies to Small Vessels in South Africa.

Our Key focus is on the implementation of the Merchant Shipping (National Small Vessel Safety) Regulations 2007, our responsibility extends to inland vessels and not only coastal waters.
 If you would like to find out more about the Centre for Boating or need to find someone within the Centre to assist you, then click here...

Find information on

The areas of responsibility delegated to each SAMSA Region are:

Western Region:    Port Nolloth: Saldanha Bay: Cape Town:

                                Orange River to Cape Agulhas and adjacent tidal inland areas; and All dams contained in the Western Cape and Northern Cape Provinces.

Southern Region:  Mossel Bay: Port Elizabeth: East London:

                                Cape Agulhas to Port Edward and adjacent tidal inland areas; and All dams contained in the Eastern Cape and Orange Free State Provinces.

Eastern Region:     Durban: Richards Bay

                                Port Edward to Ponte do Ou​ra and adjacent tidal inland areas; and All dams contained in Kwa-Zulu Natal.

Pretoria Office:      Inland areas including the following. The area of responsibility of the Pretoria office is all dams, rivers and boating areas contained within the North West, Limpopo, Mpumalanga and Gauteng Provinces

In case of any emergencies after hours you may Contact the Duty Surveyor from your nearest port who will ensure that there is a response.

Or our 24 hour emergency number (MRCC) on 021-9383300 for assistance.

​​ 454512.png

Our Mandate
Corporate Social Investments
Mission and Vision
Governing Structure​

Annual Reports
Events Calendar
Careers at SAMSA
Maritime Guidance
Multimedia Gallery

SA Coronavirus
Emergency Numbers
Contact Us
Marine Notices
Service Request
Web Mail